If you are feeling unwell and think you may have COVID-19 symptoms, contact Health Direct on 1800 022 222 (Freecall). Official information about COVID-19 from the NSW Government. Resources and information on support for Aboriginal people can be found at the COVID-19 and Aboriginal Communities – Essential Information page.

Aboriginal Languages Establishment Advisory Group (ALEAG)

The Aboriginal Languages Act 2017 was enacted in October 2017. The Act is the first Aboriginal languages legislation in Australia.

It was developed through extensive conversations with Aboriginal communities in NSW and other key stakeholders.

Consistent with our commitment to continue conversations with Aboriginal people to guide the establishment of the Act, an Aboriginal Languages Establishment Advisory Group (ALEAG) has been formed.

The first meeting of the ALEAG was on Friday, 20 April 2018.

The nine-member ALEAG includes language experts and community stakeholders from across NSW, with members endorsed by the Minister for Aboriginal Affairs.

The vision statement of the ALEAG is:

“To provide guidance and advice that promotes, reawakens, and strengthens Aboriginal Languages in NSW”.

ALEAG members:

Name Language Group/s Locality
Christopher Ingrey Dharawal La Perouse
Clark Webb Gumbaynggirr Coffs Harbour
Diane McNaboe Wiradjuri & Others Dubbo
Donna McLaren Gamilaraay Central Coast
Gary Williams Gumbaynggirr Nambucca
Irene Harrington Bundjalung Lismore
Maureen Sulter Gamilaraay Coonabarabran
Raymond Kelly Thangatti Newcastle
Rhonda Ashby Gamilaraay Lightning Ridge

The role of the ALEAG is to provide advice and guidance to Aboriginal Affairs on the establishment of the Aboriginal Languages Act 2017.

The role of Aboriginal Affairs NSW is to establish an independent Aboriginal Languages Trust. The Trust will coordinate and resource local language activities, guided by a five-year strategic plan.

For further information, please contact the First Languages Team at Aboriginal Affairs NSW on 1800 019 998 or conversation@aboriginalaffairs.nsw.gov.au

Go Back