Aboriginal Languages Establishment Advisory Group (ALEAG)

The Aboriginal Languages Act 2017 was enacted in October 2017. The Act is the first Aboriginal languages legislation in Australia.

It was developed through extensive conversations with Aboriginal languages community and other key stakeholders.

Consistent with our commitment to continue conversations with Aboriginal people to guide the establishment of the Act, an Aboriginal Language Establishment Advisory Group (ALEAG) has been formed.

The first meeting of the ALEAG was on Friday, 20 April 2018.

The nine-member ALEAG includes language experts and community stakeholders from across NSW, with members endorsed by the Ministers for Aboriginal Affairs.

ALEAG members:

Name Language Group/s Locality
Christopher Ingrey Dharawal La Perouse
Clarke Webb Gumbaynggirr Coffs Harbour
Diane McNaboe Wiradjuri & Others Dubbo
Donna McLaren Wiradjuri Central Coast
Gary Williams Gumbaynggirr Nambucca
Irene Harrington Bundjalung Lismore
Maureen Sulter Gamilaraay Coonabarabran
Raymond Kelly Thangatti Newcastle
Rhonda Ashby Gamilaraay Lightning Ridge

The ALEAG encourages participation and contribution from all community members and groups. The group seeks to establish a process for the ongoing conversations with community.

The role of Aboriginal Affairs NSW is to support the establishment of the ALEAG. The role of Aboriginal Affairs is also to support the establishment of an independent Trust to coordinate and resource local language activities, guided by a five-year strategic plan.

For further information, please contact the Aboriginal Languages Team at Aboriginal Affairs NSW on 1800 019 998 or conversation@aboriginalaffairs.nsw.gov.au

Go Back