Support is available for those affected by the NSW floods. Resources and information can be found at the NSW Flood Assistance and Resources page.

Connected Communities

Connected Communities is a whole of government, long term commitment to working in partnership with school communities to create the generational change needed for students to achieve consistently better outcomes at school. It also provides access to pathways from school into further learning and employment.

The Connected Communities strategy is a reform where the education process is inclusive and involves the Aboriginal community, school staff, Government and Non-Government agencies, local Government and the business, TAFE and University sectors.

The Connected Communities strategy builds on strengths in participating schools and communities and gains leverage from these successes.

The strategy is being implemented in 15 selected schools, mostly in rural and remote communities. The schools are:

  • Boggabilla Central School
  • Bourke High School
  • Bourke Public School
  • Brewarrina Central School
  • Coonamble High School
  • Coonamble Public School
  • Hillvue Public School
  • Menindee Central School
  • Moree East public School
  • Moree Secondary College
  • Taree High School
  • Taree Public School
  • Toomelah Public School
  • Walgett Community School
  • Wilcannia Central School

Under the Connected Community strategy, there is a strong focus on supporting every student to achieve their very best and to fulfil their aspirations, while embedding a strong vision of high expectations and achievement in all aspects of teaching and learning.

A local school reference group chaired by the local Aboriginal Education Consultative Group Inc. (AECG), members from the P&C and other key stakeholders has been established in each school to work alongside the Executive Principal to guide the planning for the strategy in each school.

This governance model is unique in that the local community, in partnership with the Executive Principal, collaborate in a co-leadership role that is locally responsive in determining students’ needs and aspirations.

The Connected Communities strategy is designed to complement the work of the Ministerial Taskforce on Aboriginal Affairs whose recommendations informed the development of OCHRE, the NSW Government Plan for Aboriginal affairs. The schools will teach Aboriginal Language and Culture which is an OCHRE initiative.

Want to know more?

Should you have questions relating to Connected Communities please forward your query to the nominated contact officer within the Department of Education and Communities:

Mr Geoff Muir
Phone: (02) 9244 5061

Relevant Weblinks  

Go Back