If you are feeling unwell and think you may have COVID-19 symptoms, contact Health Direct on 1800 022 222 (Freecall). Official information about COVID-19 from the NSW Government. Resources and information on support for Aboriginal people can be found at the COVID-19 and Aboriginal Communities – Essential Information page.

Latest News

Go back to all news

News Archive

Minister welcomes incoming NSWALC Councillors



Photo Caption: NSW Premier Mike Baird, Minister for Aboriginal Affairs Leslie Williams and Minister for Lands Niall Blair meet with the incoming NSWALC councillors.

Minister for Aboriginal Affairs Leslie Williams today congratulated the incoming Councillors of the NSW Aboriginal Land Council (NSWALC) and reaffirmed the NSW Government's commitment to working with the Aboriginal land council network across the State.

Mrs Williams, the Premier Mike Baird and Minister for Lands Niall Blair met with the NSWALC at NSW Parliament House today.

I congratulate all members who have been elected, particularly Danny Chapman, Charles Lynch and William Murray who have recently joined the Council, Mrs Williams said.

The members elected to the Board are:

  • Roy Ah-See, Chair (Sydney/Newcastle Region);
  • Anne Dennis, Deputy Chair (North Western Region);
  • Stephen Ryan (Central Region);
  • Peter Smith (Mid North Coast Region);
  • Tina Williams  (North Coast Region)
  • Charles Lynch (Northern Region);
  • Danny Chapman (South Coast Region);
  • William Murray (Western Region); and
  • Craig Cromelin (Wiradjuri Region).

The NSW Government values the insights and stakeholder perspective that is made available through such a broad-based membership. We are committed to meaningful discussions to strengthen economic, social and cultural participation,” Mrs Williams said.

NSWALC is the largest member based Aboriginal organisation in NSW and is made up of 120 Local Aboriginal Land Councils, governed by elected Boards. Every four years, members of Local Aboriginal Land Councils vote for a Councillor to represent their region.

MEDIA: William Griffiths | Minister Williams | 0428 931 143

151116 Leslie Williams med rel - Minister welcomes new NSWALC councillors

Go Back