Support is available for those affected by the NSW floods. Resources and information can be found at the NSW Flood Assistance and Resources page.

Acknowledgement of Country

Aboriginal Affairs NSW acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of the lands where we work and the places in which we live.
We pay respect to Ancestors and Elders, past, present and future. We recognise the unique cultural and spiritual relationship and celebrate the contributions of First Nations peoples to Australia.
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people should be aware that this website may contain images, voices or names of deceased persons in photographs, film, audio recordings or printed material.
Some material may contain terms that reflect authors’ views, or those of the period in which the item was written or recorded, but may not be considered appropriate today. These views are not necessarily the views of Aboriginal Affairs NSW.
While the information may not reflect current understanding, it is provided in a historical context.

Policy Reform
Healing and Reparations
Working Differently
new Knowledge
Land Rights
Our Agency

Welcome to Aboriginal Affairs NSW

Every Aboriginal person and community is thriving and celebrated.

This is our vision at Aboriginal Affairs NSW. We connect, listen, advocate and enable Aboriginal Communities to lead accountability and change across Government. 

We implement OCHRE, the NSW Government’s plan for Aboriginal affairs, establish partnerships for economic prosperity, support effective Aboriginal community governance and strengthen cultural identity and language.

Treaty                                                   Treaty                                                  

Contact an Aboriginal Affairs NSW office  Contact an Aboriginal Affairs NSW office 

View AANSW Interactive Boundaries Map View AANSW Interactive Boundaries Map

AANSW Strategic Plan 2023-2027           AANSW Strategic Plan 2023-2027          


The NSW Government is committed to a 12-month consultation process with Aboriginal communities on their aspirations for a Treaty framework or other formal agreement making process, to be led by three dedicated Commissioners.

Read all news